Paint Stick Pallet

Valentines Day is coming up and I wanted to make a little something for my sweety. Since we’ve done so much DIY renos together, I was inspired by a pallet. In keeping with our mission to lead a more sustainable life, and keep things from landfill, I repurposed paint sticks and 1″x2″ lumber to make a miniature version of the pallet that hubs could easily display in his office.

I started by designing an 8 1/2″ x  11″ picture using the charicature we had done for our wedding. I superimposed it into a ‘puzzle piece heart’ I drew with the words ‘you complete me’ – the perfect sentiment for any soul mate!

I determined how many paint sticks I would need. Ten was the perfect number for an 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of paper. I printed it out on my colour printer using regular paper.

Paint Stick Pallet Wall Art for Valentines 011_bof.jpg

I could have gone for a more straight-laced picture from our wedding like the one below, but given the choice between serious and humour, I’ll choose humour every time!

Wedding Digital 038_bof.jpg

I took packing tape and applied three strips across the back of the paint sticks to keep them all together and flipped it over.

Paint Stick Pallet _6.jpg

Then I mixed up a ratio of 50:50 glue to water. I had some leftover glue from the hardwood we recently installed in my craft studio, so I just used that (glue only has a shelf life of about one year).

Paint Stick Pallet Wall Art for Valentines 013_bof.jpg

I used a foam brush to lay down a thin layer of the glue mixture on the paint sticks. The trick to keeping paper from bubbling when you decoupage is to keep the application of glue thin and let it dry a bit until tacky. Then you can lay down the paper and smooth it out.

paint-stick-pallet-wall-art-for-valentines-017_bof

To disguise the white boarder of the paper, I outlined around the edges with a marker in a coordinating colour after the glue was dry.

Paint Stick Pallet _5.jpg

I applied a coat of water based varnish, let it dry overnight and then applied a second coat to seal and protect it.

Paint Stick Pallet _3.jpg

Once the varnish was dry, I cut around the edges of the picture on my bandsaw. I removed the packing tape on the back of the paint sticks, then I cut each individual piece apart.

Paint Stick Pallet _1.jpg

I assembled my paint sticks and added in spacers in between (using another paint stick on it’s side) so I could measure for the length of the 1″x2’s”.

paint-stick-pallet-wall-art-for-valentines-042_bof

I cut three pieces of 1″ x 2″ and turned them on their sides. I glued the paint sticks on top leaving a gap in between until they were all glued onto the lumber.

paint-stick-pallet-wall-art-for-valentines-044_bof

I added some scrap paint sticks on top and weighed the whole thing down with my vintage irons as the glue dried.

paint-stick-pallet-wall-art-for-valentines-047_bof

Once it had time to dry, I measured and cut 4 more paint sticks to apply underneath the ‘skid’  with finishing nails. I was going to add the finishing nails onto the face of the skid too, but I couldn’t bear to detract from the picture. As an option, if you want the look of nails on the surface of the boards, you could take a silver sharpie and add two little dots to each one to mimick the nail heads.

On the back, I added some picture hanging wire between two screw eyes to hang it up. I can’t wait for Valentines day to arrive so I can give it to hubs; I hope he likes it!

Paint Stick Pallet Wall Art for Valentines 059_bof.jpg

With the paint stick pallet complete, I guess I’ve got a real ‘paint’ theme going on at Birdz of a Feather craft! Most recently, I just completed this paint bucket water feature:

paint-bucket-water-feature-124_bof

And remember this paint chip portrait I did of hubs?

C_Opening_FINAL_bof.jpg

For another fun craft idea that isn’t paint-related, check out my blue jean planter 🙂

standing-planter-095_bof

Don’t forget to pin and share if you enjoyed this post.

Follow us right here on Birdz of a Feather (link in footer or on homepage) or Bloglovin (link below) and you’ll get an e-mail next time I post a new craft project.

Bloglovin Button

Featured on Hometalk.com

Save

6 thoughts on “Paint Stick Pallet

  1. Pingback: Paint Bucket Water Feature | Birdz of a Feather Craft

  2. Pingback: Organizing a Craft Room | Birdz of a Feather Home

  3. Pingback: Yeah Baby! Turn a Headshot Photo Into a Cardboard Portrait | Birdz of a Feather ~ Craft Rehab

  4. Pingback: Tarnish Free Jewellery Cabinet Upcycle | Birdz of a Feather ~ Craft Rehab

  5. Pingback: Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls – Gluten Free! | Birdz of a Feather ~ Craft Rehab

Leave a Reply

